Influentially Sharing Influents and Social Commerce

My good friend Taylor Ryan (58thstreetmarketing and NativeByDesignz) once asked in her "Native's Nook" blog this question:

"Can your business cross the channel of social media marketing?

An increasing number of companies have expressed their need to find highly skilled people to help build their social media capabilities and provide effective return on investment"

She was promoting her eCommerce consultative services (which are rockstar great BTW) when she wrote that post but I took a different take on the question

[I wrote this semi-response to her question on my birthday in 2011 but didn't post it until a few days later.  Oh August 2 and I am a Leo in case you were about to ask me that T]

>>

"Influentially Sharing Influents and Social Commerce"

If you are like me you read a blog title like that and go "huh?" that one makes no sense.  Before you decide to bounce out of here please let me try to explain my title.  I'll try to keep it quick

I think real "Social Influence" is really tough to define and pretty complex.  You can pick up about a hundred and fifty books at the library, talk to everyone you know (and even a few of those that you don't know) and everyone will tell you something different about the topic.  Heck, I have a two digit social influence score on my Addoway storefront and I don't even know what it means.  I look at my score this way: am I more or less influential if my score goes up or down day by day?  Those with high scores added to their online stores make a difference in other people's lives is about all I'm prepared to say.

Look up the word "influents" if you want.  I'm pretty fluent and the first thing I think of when I read that word are creeks.  I know a bunch of small creeks feed into a stream and eventually all that water makes it to a river.  Influents are a big part of how a mighty river is created. Some of them might even be called a trickle or storm runoff but I think creeks because I have always liked creeks.  Getting deep for a sec, if you think about it making a difference in someone's life can be the result of something really tiny like a warm smile or a heartfelt apology.

Sharing in Social Commerce is pretty much this simple:  you casually share what you like and perhaps you influence how another person thinks about a good or service.  If I go online, tell all my friends on Facebook what I like and maybe get just one of them to buy something I am doing the "Social Commerce" thing and being influential.  If a friend reads what I write about something cool and passes it on to their friends on Facebook I am being even more influential.

Here's the meaning behind my title then, in about two sentences.  Social commerce has a ton of different facets and is the next wave in marketing.  Getting the ball rolling, I think, is tough unless a bunch of folks decide to opt in. 

If I share I want to share about micro-sellers, especially those sellers I see who are just trying to get out of the gate and really are new.  I am a guy and like NASCAR but I can see qualities in handmade items that really make me stop and say "Wow, that's really unique!"  Sure I can tell everyone I like Coca-Cola more than other soft drinks but what's the point?  Friends of mine on Twitter and Facebook know I get online, surf the net and like to offer up cross-promotions and be helpful in small ways with my selling friends' concerns.  Ya I want to see more sellers be successful and have fun with their marketing efforts.  I think everyone should do the same and pitch in every once in a while to the growing trend of Social eCommerce.  I hope that last bit influences you and my title makes at least a small bit of sense now.

*********************************************************************************************************

This is the link to my original addopost.  I really liked the comments I got, especially Ren's.  Her's rocked for sure

http://www.addoway.com/Brian_J_Wood/blog/b/Influentially-Sharing-Influents-an...

*********************************************************************************************************